Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.

August birthstone: Spinel

Share on:
Dorothee Rosen Designer Jeweller Goldsmith and Silversmith Profile
EXPERT
Conseil
with Dorothée Rosen

Spinel  •  Pierre de naissance du mois d'août

Je parie que la moitié d'entre vous sera surpris de lire qu'il existe une pierre de naissance pour le mois d'août dont vous n'avez même jamais entendu parlé? C’est vrai - et quelle beauté! Laissez-moi vous dire:

Histoire et Tradition

Le concept de pierres associé à des mois spécifiques trouve son origine dans le livre de l'Exode; la cuirasse d'Aaron était décorée de 12 pierres précieuses, une pour chaque mois. Pendant plusieurs siècles, il était d'usage de posséder les douze pierres précieuses et d'en porter une différente chaque mois. Inutile de dire: j'aime cette idée!

La coutume de porter une pierre précieuse importante pour le mois de sa naissance ne s’est développée qu’au XVIIIe siècle. La liste varie selon le pays et la culture; la version nord-américaine que nous utilisons aujourd'hui a été officialisée en 1912 par l’organisation «Jewelers of America». La pierre précieuse originale du mois d'août était le sardonyx, une calcédoine à bandes, rarement utilisée aujourd'hui. Le péridot a été ajouté plus tard. Cependant, le péridot peut être cassant et toutes les personnes nées en août n'aiment pas un vert intense et floral. Plus important encore dans les bijoux: le péridot n'est pas une pierre précieuse très dure - il peut s'user facilement, ce qui rend la pierre terne.

Heureusement, en 2016, le spinelle a été annoncé comme pierre de naissance alternative pour août. Réjouissez-vous - vos options de couleur viennent de s'ouvrir énormément! Même si la plupart des consommateurs ne connaissent pas encore le spinelle, les bijoutiers apprécient depuis longtemps cette pierre pour son excellente ténacité, son éclat incroyable et sa vaste gamme de couleurs naturelles.

 

Il y a plus de raisons d'apprécier le spinelle que sa ténacité et sa couleur. On dit que le spinelle donne de l’énergie au corps, augmente ses pouvoirs d’auto-guérison et aide è réduire les inflammations physiques. Elle est également associée à la richesse magnétisante.

Couleur

L'une de mes qualités préférées du spinelle est que, contrairement à la majorité des autres pierres précieuses colorées, il n'est jamais traité pour améliorer la couleur. La couleur de la pierre que vous voyez est telle qu'elle est sortie de la terre. Oh, et quelle grande variété de couleurs! Les rouges, les roses, les violets et les rouges orangés sont les teintes les plus courantes, mais le spinelle peut également être trouvé dans la lavande, le bleu et (rarement) le vert. Il existe même une version noire solide naturelle.

Sterling silver OneFooter with cushion spinel set in 18k gold
Brilliance

Les connaisseurs de pierres précieuses et les joailliers apprécient depuis longtemps le spinelle pour son éclat vitreux brillant. Il a un indice de réfraction très élevé, ce qui lui confère un éclat brillant. Je pense vraiment que l'or jaune 18K lui rend honneur - si royal!

18k gold OneFooter with red spinel

Force

L'échelle de Mohs de dureté minérale quantifie la dureté et la douceur d'un matériau. Tu m'entendras utiliser ces termes de temps en temps. Avec une dureté Mohs de 8 sur une échelle de 1 à 10, le spinelle est une pierre assez dure. Cela en fait un excellent choix pour un usage quotidien.

Précautions

Certains spinelles peuvent être traités avec un processus de huilage pour combler les fissures afin d'améliorer l'apparence de la pierre. Ce traitement n'est pas stable. Il existe également des spinelles synthétiques sur le marché. J'en frémis même d'y penser!

Prix

Comme pour la plupart des pierres colorées authentiques, la qualité et la valeur du spinelle dépendent en grande partie de la saturation et de l'intensité de sa couleur, ainsi que de sa clarté. Le spinelle est naturellement une pierre incroyablement brillante. Cette brillance est renforcée par une excellente coupe avec des proportions et une symétrie appropriées. Bien sûr, le poids de la pierre influencera également le prix. Les plus "gros" spinelles sont rares, avec une augmentation spectaculaire des prix par carat pour les spinelles rouges, bleus et roses de bonne qualité qui pèsent plus de 5 carats.

Conclusion
With all these qualities, spinel is beginning to make a name for itself. As it does, demand, and therefore the price, will surely increase – and potentially quite quickly. So be sure to snatch yourself a piece with one while you can.

 

Faits Amusants
  • Historiquement, le spinelle était souvent confondu avec le rubis. Les deux pierres précieuses se trouvent souvent dans les mêmes gisements, elles se ressemblent et elles ont des compositions chimiques similaires. Ce n'est qu'au XVIIIe siècle que le spinelle a été correctement identifié comme un minéral distinct.
  • En raison de la confusion entre le rubis et le spinelle, de nombreux «rubis» célèbres sont en fait des spinelles. Le plus célèbre d’entre eux est peut-être le «Black Prince Ruby», un spinelle rouge de 5 cm de haut, présenté dans la couronne impériale anglaise.
  • Les cristaux du spinelle sont si parfaits qu'en Birmanie, on dit qu'ils sont "polient par les esprits."

Sterling silver OneFooter with pear shaped purple spinel set in 18k gold

Qu'est-ce que vous aimeriez lire d'autre? Envoyez-moi un indice ou appellez-moi s'il y a quelque chose sur l'orfèvrerie sur lequel vous aimeriez en savoir plus. Je serai ravi de partager.

Dorothee Rosen Designer Jeweller Goldsmith and Silversmith Profile

Vous souhaitez créer une pièce unique, une bague de fiançailles ou tout autre type de création? Contactez-moi à propos du vôtre projet personnalisé!

Share on:

Join my Artisan's Circle

Want to join the growing community of people who make it their Sunday morning ritual to read my Artisan’s Circle letter? Intimate stories. Care tips. Exclusive Previews

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de courriel ne sera pas publiée.

USD prices are estimates only.
Custom Gold Ring with Diamond and Sapphire
People tell me they make it their Sunday morning ritual to read my letters. It's a personal look into the life of an artist, with intimate stories, care tips, and of course some exclusive jewellery previews as well.

August birthstone: Spinel

Share on:
EXPERT
Expert
Advice
with Dorothée Rosen.

Spinel  •  August’s Birthstone

I bet half of you will be surprised to read that there is a birthstone for August which you’ve never even heard of? It’s true – and what a beauty it is! Let me tell you:

History and Lore

The concept of stones associated with specific months originates in the Book of Exodus; the breastplate of Aaron was decorated with 12 gemstones, one for each month. For several centuries it was customary to own all twelve gemstones and wear a different one each month. Needless to say: I like that idea!

The custom of wearing a gemstone significant to one’s birth month only developed in the 18th century. The list varies by country and culture; the North American version we use today was formalized in 1912 by the organization ‘Jewelers of America’. The original gemstone for August was sardonyx, a banded chalcedony, rarely used today. Peridot was added later. However, peridot can be brittle, and not everyone born in August likes an intense, floral green. More importantly in jewellery: peridot is not a very hard gemstone – it can abrade easily, making the stone look dull.

Luckily, in 2016, spinel was announced as an alternative birthstone for August. Rejoice – your colour options just opened up immensely! Even though most consumers are as of yet unfamiliar with spinel, jewellers have long appreciated this gem for its excellent toughness, incredible lustre and vast array of natural colours.

 

There are more reasons to appreciate spinel than its toughness and colour, though. Spinel is said to lend the body energy, increase one’s powers of self healing, and aid physical inflammations. It is also associated with magnetizing wealth.

Colour

One of my favourite qualities of spinel is that, unlike the majority of other coloured gemstones, it is never treated to enhance colour. The colour of the stone you see is as it came out of the earth. Oh, and what a wide variety of colours it comes in! Reds, pinks, purples and orange-reds are the most common hues, but spinel can also be found in lavender, blue, and (rarely) green. There is even a naturally occurring solid black version.

Sterling silver OneFooter with cushion spinel set in 18k gold
Brilliance

Gem connoisseurs and jewellers have long appreciated spinel for its bright vitreous lustre. It has a very high refractive index, giving it a brilliant and bright sparkle. I really think it looks best on 18k yellow gold – so regal!

18k gold OneFooter with red spinel

Strength

The Mohs scale of mineral hardness quantifies the hard and softness of a material. You will hear me use this term time and again. With a Mohs hardness of 8 on a scale of 1 to 10, spinel is a fairly tough stone. This makes it an excellent choice for everyday wear.

Cautions

Some spinels may be treated with an oiling process to fill fissures in order to improve the stone’s appearance. This treatment is not stable. There are also synthetic spinels on the market. I shudder to even think about it!

Price

As with most genuine coloured gems, the quality and value of spinel depends largely on the saturation and intensity of its colour, as well as its clarity. Spinel is naturally an incredibly brilliant stone. This brilliance is enhanced by an excellent cut with proper proportions and symmetry. Of course, the stone’s weight will influence the price, as well. Large spinels are rare, with a dramatic increase in per carat prices for fine quality red, blue and pink spinels that weigh upwards of 5 carats.

Conclusion
With all these qualities, spinel is beginning to make a name for itself. As it does, demand, and therefore the price, will surely increase – and potentially quite quickly. So be sure to snatch yourself a piece with one while you can.

 

Fun Facts
  • Historically, spinel was often mistaken for ruby. Both gems are often found in the same deposits, they look alike, and they have similar chemical compositions. It was not until the 18th century that spinel was correctly identified as a separate mineral.
  • As a result of the confusion between ruby and spinel, many famous “rubies” are in fact spinel. Perhaps the most famous of these is the ‘Black Prince Ruby’, which is a 5 cm high red spinel, featured in the English Imperial State Crown.
  • Spinel crystals are so perfect that in Burma they are said to be nat the, or “polished by the spirits.”

Sterling silver OneFooter with pear shaped purple spinel set in 18k gold

What else would you like to read about? Drop me a line or give me a call if there is something about goldsmithing which you’d like to find out more about. I will be delighted to share.

Dorothee Rosen Designer Jeweller Goldsmith and Silversmith Profile

Interested in creating a unique piece, an engagement ring, or any kind of other creation? Contact me about your own custom project!

Share on:

Join my Artisan's Circle

Want to join the growing community of people who make it their Sunday morning ritual to read my Artisan’s Circle letter? Intimate stories. Care tips. Exclusive Previews

Leave a Reply

Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.

Available Filters









USD prices are estimates only.
Custom Gold Ring with Diamond and Sapphire
People tell me they make it their Sunday morning ritual to read my Artisan’s Circle letter. It’s a personal look into the life of an artist. 
Intimate stories. Care tips. Exclusive Previews. Subscribe now.