Or

Share on:
EXPERT
D'expert
Conseil
with Dorothée Rosen.


Jetons un coup d'œil à l'or aujourd'hui - pas la version boursière, mais la vraie, solide et portable - une vue «de l'autre côté du banc de joaillier». Dieu merci, ce magnifique métal fait son grand retour. L'or est un matériel tellement incroyable, dont la qualité et la beauté en ont fait un métal convoité depuis des millénaires dans le monde entier.

Carats

Commençons par démystifier les carats. Le calcul est simple: pour obtenir la teneur réelle en or pur, divisez votre carat par 24 et multipliez par cent. Pour l'or 18 carats, cela signifie que 18 parties sur 24 sont en or = l'or 18 carats est composé à 75% d'or pur et 25% d'un autre
métal. Presque la moitié (58%) de l'or 14 carats n'est pas de l'or.

Jaune, Blanc, Rose

La combinaison de l'or avec d'autres métaux s'appelle un alliage. L'utilisation de différents métaux pour l'alliage donne des caractéristiques différentes. Par exemple, l'or pur est allié à l'argent et au cuivre pour de l'or jaunes, ou simplement au cuivre pour de l'or rose. Pour l'or blanc, on ajoute soit du nickel (moins cher) ou soit du palladium (plus coûteux). En raison de sa teinte jaune, l'or blanc nickel est généralement finement plaqué rhodium. Cette fine couche de rhodium se déteindra et devra être remplacée fréquemment.

Est-ce que l'or 18 carats est trop souple?

Alors que l'or dans sa forme pure est très souple, c'est l'alliage avec d'autres métaux qui augmente sa résistance. J'adore le poids, la sensation et la couleur de l'or 18 carats. La plupart des bijoux commerciaux 18k sont construits trop fin, afin de réduire les coûts. En conséquence, les gens pensent que 18k sera trop souple mais ce n'est pas le cas. Personnellement, j'adore ce métal. J'aime l'utiliser en abondance - parfois 3 pieds de celui-ci en un seul morceau!

La joie de travailler cette matière est imprégnée dans les pièces finies. L'or 14 carats n'a tout simplement pas la saturation ou la sensation de l'or 18 carats - à fabriquer ou à porter. Lorsque je travaille avec de l'or blanc, je préfère l'or blanc palladium 18 carats pour sa couleur, son toucher et ses qualités supérieures. Le palladium est un métal de la famille des métaux du platine. Son magnifique lustre sombre et sa densité palpable sont des qualités très attrayantes. L'or blanc palladium se prête aux techniques de forgeage que j'applique. C'est un alliage durable, contemporain et très élégant, qui ne contient pas de nickel.

Extra-Terrestre

Une dernière «pépite» pour vous: saviez-vous que l’or venait de l’espace? Elle est si rare car elle n'est pas créée à sur la planète comme la Terre, mais par la collision de neutrons d'anciennes super novae - qui sont des explosions très rapides, catastrophiques et extrêmement énergétiques.

Autre faits sur l'or
  • Les premières reliques en or datent de 4500 av.
  • L’or est utilisé comme réflecteurs dans le verre - les panneaux réfléchissants du Royal Bank Plaza de Toronto contiennent près de 3 millions de dollars d’or.
  • Une fois transformée en fil d'or fin, un once peut être étirée jusqu'à 80km de long - de Bedford à Wolfville.
  • Deux cents ordinateurs portables rapportent 5 onces d'or récupéré.
Share on:

Join my Artisan's Circle

Want to join the growing community of people who make it their Sunday morning ritual to read my Artisan’s Circle letter? Intimate stories. Care tips. Exclusive Previews

Leave a Reply

Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.

USD prices are estimates only.
Custom Gold Ring with Diamond and Sapphire
People tell me they make it their Sunday morning ritual to read my Artisan’s Circle letter. It’s a personal look into the life of an artist. 
Intimate stories. Care tips. Exclusive Previews. Subscribe now.

Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.

Gold

Share on:
Dorothee Rosen Designer Jeweller Goldsmith and Silversmith Profile
EXPERT
Advice
with Dorothée Rosen


Let’s have a look at gold today – not the stock market version, but the good, hard, solid, wearable variety – a view ‘from the other side of the bench’. Thank goodness this gorgeous metal is making a comeback. Gold is such an incredible material, one whose quality and beauty has made it a coveted metal for millennia all over the world.

Karats

First, let’s demystify karats. The math is simple: to get actual pure gold content, divide your karat by 24, and multiply by one hundred. For 18k gold, that means that 18 parts out of 24 parts are gold = 18 karat gold consists of 75% pure gold, and 25% other
metals. Almost half (58%) of 14k gold is not gold.

Yellow, White, Rose

The combination of gold with other metals is called an alloy. Using different metals for the alloy results in different characteristics. For example, pure gold is alloyed with silver and copper for karat yellow golds, or just copper for rose golds. For white golds, either cheaper nickel, or expensive palladium are added. Because of its yellow tinge, nickel white gold is generally thinly rhodium plated. That thin rhodium layer will rub off, and will need to be replaced frequently.

Is 18 karat gold really too soft?

While gold in its pure form is very soft, it is the alloying with other metals which increases its strength. I adore the weight, feel and colour of a well-balanced 18k gold. Most commercial 18k jewellery is built too lightly, in order to cut costs. As a result, people think that 18k will be too soft – it is not. Personally, I love the material so much, I like using it in abundance – sometimes 3 feet of it in one piece!

The joy of working that material is imbued in the finished pieces. 14k just doesn’t have the saturation or feel of 18k gold – to make or wear. A contemporary white gold When I work with white gold, I prefer 18k palladium white gold for its colour, feel, and superior working qualities. The alloyed palladium is a metal in the platinum family of metals. Its gorgeous dark lustre and palpable density are highly attractive qualities. Palladium white gold lends itself to the forging techniques I apply. It is a durable, contemporary, and very elegant alloy, which does not contain nickel.

Extraterrestrial

A final ‘nugget’ for you: did you know that gold originated from space? It isso rare because it is created not inside a planet like the earth, but by the collision of neutrons from former super novae – which are very fast, catastrophic, extremely energetic kinds of explosions.

More Curious Gold Facts
  • the earliest gold relics date to 4,500 B.C.
  • gold is used as reflectors in glass – the reflective panes in Toronto’s Royal Bank Plaza contain almost $3million worth of gold.
  • when made into thin gold wire, one ounce can be drawn into 80km of hair thin wire – from Bedford to Wolfville.
  • two hundred laptops will yield 5 troy ounces of recovered gold
Share on:

Join my Artisan's Circle

Want to join the growing community of people who make it their Sunday morning ritual to read my Artisan’s Circle letter? Intimate stories. Care tips. Exclusive Previews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

USD prices are estimates only.
Custom Gold Ring with Diamond and Sapphire
People tell me they make it their Sunday morning ritual to read my letters. It's a personal look into the life of an artist, with intimate stories, care tips, and of course some exclusive jewellery previews as well.