Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.

Expert Advice FAQ Dorothée Rosen Soldering 2

Comment sont fabriqués les bijoux? Fabrication

Share on:
Dorothee Rosen Designer Jeweller Goldsmith and Silversmith Profile
EXPERT
Conseil
with Dorothée Rosen

Comment sont fabriqué les bijoux? Fabrication

Comme expliqué dans mon dernier article sur le moulage, certains modèles se prêtent à être créés dans de la cire puis à être coulés à partir de métal fondu. D'autres conceptions sont mieux adaptées pour être fabriquées directement à partir d'une feuille ou d'un fil de métal précieux; ce processus est appelé «fabrication». Être compétent dans les deux techniques est particulièrement important lors de la création de projets personnalisés en consultation directe avec les clients.

Techniques de fabrication en métaux précieux

Expert Advice FAQ Dorothée Rosen Finished Ring Onefooter 18k Gold with DiamondDe nombreuses techniques d'orfèvrerie manipulent directement les métaux précieux: forger, par exemple, signifie changer la forme d'un objet en métal massif, généralement par un coup de marteau - semblable à la forge. Cela peut être fait chaud ou froid. 

Expert Advice FAQ Dorothée Rosen Soldering 1D'autres méthodes plus douces de manipulation du métal sont également appliquées: le sciage, le perçage, le pliage et bien sûr le soudage. Les techniques d'assemblage telles que le rivetage ou la construction de charnières sont appelées «assemblage à froid». Chacune de ces techniques affecte le design, la sensation et l'apparence d'un bijou.

Dans la plupart des cas, toutes les techniques ci-dessus seront appliquées à un moment ou à un autre dans la fabrication artisanale d'un bijou (parfois en combinaison avec le moulage). Dans la fabrication de mes bagues de la série Onefooter, par exemple, je vais d'abord forger le fil, changeant ainsi sa forme à partir d'un pied de long d'argent sterling ou d'or 18 carats. Cette longueur est ensuite poncée et polie, avant d'être enroulée encore et encore autour d'un mandrin pour créer une forme de bague. Les extrémités sont soudées et disparaissent sous le limage et le sablage.Expert Advice FAQ Dorothée Rosen Wrapping

Construire une maison pour une pierre

Setting a new stoneSi une pierre doit être appliquée, une étroite bande d'or, de la longueur de la circonférence de la pierre, sera sciée dans une feuille d'or. Cette longueur est pliée et soudée pour créer une «lunette» - qui entourera la pierre. Pour une lunette pleine ou demi, un «siège» sera créé pour la pierre à l'intérieur de cette forme de tube - soit en ajoutant du fil d'or le long de l'intérieur de la lunette, soit en coupant du matériel pour créer une «marche» à l'intérieur. Chaque aspect en cours de route doit être exécuté avec une précision exacte, sinon la pierre ne sera pas bien placée sur le dessus de la bague ou à l'intérieur de sa lunette.

Il est maintenant temps de trouver un emplacement pour la lunette sur la bague - cela peut prendre beaucoup de temps de limage et de meulage pour créer le «coin» exact de la lunette au sommet de chaque bague. Tout comme dans les méthodes de moulage discutées dans le dernier article, commence maintenant le long processus de nettoyage: la pièce entière doit être méticuleusement poncée et polie, avant que la pierre puisse s'y installer. A ce stade, la pièce peut subir un processus de durcissement des métaux précieux en étant placée dans un barratte rotative pendant plusieurs heures. Le sertissage de la pierre est en quelque sorte l'étape la plus agréable et la plus méticuleuse des processus, et se produit à la toute fin, lorsque tout le reste est terminée.

18k yellow gold and spinel is a match made in heaven. This one is sz 9

Qu'est-ce que vous aimeriez lire d'autre? Envoyez-moi un indice ou appellez-moi s'il y a quelque chose sur l'orfèvrerie sur lequel vous aimeriez en savoir plus. Je serai ravi de partager.

Vous souhaitez créer une pièce unique, une bague de fiançailles ou tout autre type de création? Contactez-moi à propos du vôtre projet personnalisé!

Shop Onefooter Series

Share on:

Subscribe to my Sunday Letters

Want to join the growing community of people who make it their morning ritual to read my Sunday Letters? Intimate stories. Care tips. Exclusive Previews.

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

USD prices are estimates only.
Custom Gold Ring with Diamond and Sapphire
People tell me they make it their Sunday morning ritual to read my letters. It's a personal look into the life of an artist, with intimate stories, care tips, and of course some exclusive jewellery previews as well.

Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.

Expert Advice FAQ Dorothée Rosen Soldering 2

How is Jewellery Made? Fabrication

Share on:
EXPERT
Expert
Advice
with Dorothée Rosen.

How is jewellery made? Fabrication

As explained in my last article about casting, some designs lend themselves to being created in wax and then being cast from molten metal. Other designs are better suited to being made directly from sheet or wire of precious metal; this process is called ‘fabrication’. Being skilled in both techniques is particularly important when creating custom projects in consultation with clients directly.

Precious Metals Fabrication Techniques

Expert Advice FAQ Dorothée Rosen Finished Ring Onefooter 18k Gold with DiamondMany goldsmithing techniques manipulate precious metals directly: forging, for example, means changing the shape of a solid metal object, generally by the blow of a hammer – similar to blacksmithing. This can be done hot or cold. 

Expert Advice FAQ Dorothée Rosen Soldering 1Other, more gentle ways of manipulating metal are also applied: sawing, drilling, bending, and of course soldering. Joining techniques such as riveting or the building of hinges are called ‘cold-connecting”. Each such technique effects the design, feel and look of a piece of jewellery.

In most cases, all of the above techniques will be applied at one point or another in the hand-crafting of a piece of jewellery, (sometimes in combination with casting). In the making of my rings in the Onefooter Series, for example, I will first forge the wire, thus changing its shape along the one-foot length of sterling silver or 18k gold. This length is then sanded and polished, before it is wrapped around a mandrel again and again to create a ring shape. The ends are soldered and then made to disappear by way of filing and sanding.Expert Advice FAQ Dorothée Rosen Wrapping

Building a home for a stone

Setting a new stoneIf a stone is to be applied, a narrow strip of gold, the length of the circumference of the stone, will be sawn out of a sheet. This length is bent and soldered to create a ‘bezel’ – which will surround the stone. For a full or half bezel, a ‘seat’ will be created for the stone inside this tube shape – either by adding gold wire along the inside of the bezel, or by cutting away material to create a ‘step’ inside. Every aspect along the way has the be executed with exact precision, or the stone will not sit well on top of the ring, or inside its bezel.

Now it is time to find a placement for the bezel on the ring – it can take a long time of filing and grinding to create the exact ‘nook’ for the bezel atop each ring. Just like in casting methods discussed in the last article, now begins the lengthy process of clean-up: the entire piece must be meticulously sanded and polished, before the stone can be set. At this point the piece may undergo a hardening process of the precious metals by way of being placed in a rotary tumbler for several hours. The setting of the gem is in a way the most enjoyable and delicious of the processes, and happens at the very end, when everything else is taken care off.

18k yellow gold and spinel is a match made in heaven. This one is sz 9

What else would you like to read about? Drop me a line or give me a call if there is something about goldsmithing which you’d like to find out more about. I will be delighted to share.

Interested in creating a unique piece, an engagement ring, or any kind of other creation? Contact me about your own custom project!

Shop Onefooter Series

Share on:

Join my Artisan's Circle

Want to join the growing community of people who make it their Sunday morning ritual to read my Artisan’s Circle letter? Intimate stories. Care tips. Exclusive Previews

Leave a Reply

USD prices are estimates only.
Custom Gold Ring with Diamond and Sapphire
People tell me they make it their Sunday morning ritual to read my letters. It's a personal look into the life of an artist, with intimate stories, care tips, and of course some exclusive jewellery previews as well.